MINUTES OF SENATE ALGOMA UNIVERSITY First Regular Meeting of 2019 - 2020 September 6, 2019

Humanities Faculty

M. DiSanto, W. Johnston, T. O'Flanagan, A. Pinheiro, M. Ross [PTF], R. Rutherdale, N. Shaw [regrets: A. Ridout; absent: M. Graydon, C. Ross]

Social Science Faculty

N. Aziz, K. DeLuca, D. Galotta, A. Gordon, S. Meades, T. Tchir [regrets: R. Cameron, C. Denomme, M. Mclellan [PTF]]

Science Faculty

L. Bloomfield [Speaker], S. Butler [PTF], N. Cameron, W. Dew, P. Dupuis, Y. Feng, J. Foote, D. Keough, S. Xu, C. Zhang

Other Members

D. Anaquod, C. Assiniwai, M. Ditoro, M. Jones, D. Marasco [Secretary], E. Riauka, D. Rogers, S. Shaver, A. Trudeau, A. Vezina

Guests

D. Woodman

The Speaker called the meeting of Senate to order at 1:03pm.

19.09.01 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Moved (Keough/Galotta): that the agenda for the September 6, 2019 meeting of Senate be approved.

Motion carried.

19.09.02 APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES from the meeting of June 7, 2019

Moved (Keough/Johnston): that Senate approve the minutes from the Senate meeting of June 7, 2019.

Motion carried. [five abstentions for the record: K. DeLuca, P. Dupuis, J. Foote,

W. Dew, T. O'Flanagan]

19.09.03BUSINESS ARISING (for action or information)19.09.03.01Senate Membership [2019-20]

Moved (Keough/Shaver): that Senate approve the following Senate membership for the 2019 - 20 Senate year:

Social Sciences:

- 1. Dr. Aaron Gordon, Chair
- 2. Professor Cathy Denomme, Director of the School of Business and Economics
- 3. Dr. Trevor Tchir, Chair, Department of Law and Politics
- 4. Dr. Rose Cameron, Department of Social Work
- 5. CESD
- 6. Dr. Nusrate Aziz, member at large
- 7. Professor Dave Galotta, member at large
- 8. Dr. Sean Meades, member at large
- 9. Dr. Kelly DeLuca, member at large

<u>Humanities:</u>

- 1. Dr. Warren Johnston, Faculty Chair
- 2. Dr. Michael DiSanto, Chair, Department of English and History
- 3. Dr. Celia Ross, Chair, Modern Languages
- 4. Professor Andrea Pinheiro, Chair, Department of Music and Visual Art
- 5. Dr. Michael Graydon, Chair, Department of Sociology
- 6. Professor Tom O'Flanagan, member at large
- 7. Dr. Robert Rutherdale, member at large
- 8. Dr. Nicola Shaw, member at large
- 9. Dr. Alice Ridout, member at large

Sciences:

- 1. Dr. Laurie Bloomfield, Faculty Chair
- 2. Dr. Jennifer Foote, Chair, Department of Biology
- 3. Dr. Nairne Cameron, Chair, Department of Geography & Geology
- 4. Dr. Simon Xu, Chair, Department of Computer Science and Mathematics
- 5. Dr. Paul Dupuis, Chair, Department of Psychology
- 6. Dr. Chunua Zhang, member at large
- 7. Dr. William Dew, member at large
- 8. Dr. Yi Feng, member at large
- 9. Dr. Dwayne Keough, member at large

Students:

- 1. Savannah Shaver [AUSU]
- 2. Colter Assiniwai
- 3. Marissa Ditoro
- 4. Angela Trudeau [SASA]

Motion carried.

19.09.03.02 Senate Committee Membership [2019-20]

Moved (Keough/Foote): that Senate approve the following Senate Committee membership for the 2019 - 20 Senate year:

Academic Planning and Priorities appcom@algomau.ca Dr. Warren Johnston [HUMA] Professor Andrea Pinheiro [HUMA] TBA [SCEN] Dr. Laurie Bloomfield [SCEN] Dr. Aaron Gordon [SOSC] Dr. Kelly DeLuca [SOSC] David Marasco [University Registrar] Dr. Donna Rogers [Provost and Academic Dean] Asima Vezina [President] Savannah Shaver [student]

Academic Regulations and Petitions arp@algomau.ca

Dr. George Townsend [SCEN] Dr. Deborah Woodman [HUMA] Professor Pelham Matthews[SOSC] David Marasco Shelley Mitchell Marissa Ditoro

Teaching & Learning and Technical Support Services tltech@algomau.ca Dr. Chunhua Zhang [SCEN] Dr. Alice Ridout [HUMA] Dr. Gerry Mahar [SOSC] Dawn White Mark Jones Dereck Whitmell Angela Trudeau Yahaya Alphonse

Appeals and Academic Standards appeals@algomau.ca

Dr. Arthur Perlini [SCEN] Dr. Nicola Shaw [HUMA] Dr. Kelly DeLuca [SOSC] Marissa Ditoro Tyler Murphy

Curriculum Committee curcom@algomau.ca

Dr. Dwayne Keough [SCEN] Dr. Edward Turgeon [HUMA] Dr. Henry Hornstein [SOSC] Dr. Donna Rogers David Marasco Mark Jones Savannah Shaver Colter Assiniwai

- Senate Executive Committee senex@algomau.ca Dr. Warren Johnston [HUMA] Dr. Aaron Gordon [SOSC] Dr. Laurie Bloomfield [SCEN – Speaker] Professor Dave Galotta [Deputy Speaker] David Marasco [University Registrar] Dr. Donna Rogers [Academic Dean] Asima Vezina [President]
- Quality Assurance Committee qac@algomau.ca Dr. Istvan Imre [SCEN] Dr. Robert Rutherdale [HUMA] Dr. Trevor Tchir [SOSC] Dr. Donna Rogers David Marasco Dawn White Dipeeka Luitel Robert Sandvik

<u>Research Advisory Committee</u> rac@algomau.ca Dr. Nicola Shaw [HUMA]

Dr. Isobel Molina [SCEN] Dr. Nuzrate Aziz [SOSC] Dr. Chunhua Zhang Dr. Donna Rogers Dr. Pedro Antunes Mark Jones Asima Vezina

Motion carried.

19.09.04 BUSINESS ARISING (for action or information) 19.09.04.01 Economics Final Assessment Report

Moved (Rogers/Johnston): that the Academic Planning and Priorities Committee recommends to Senate, the Final Assessment Report and Implementation plan for the External Program Review in Economics as submitted.

It was brought to the attention of Senate that the School has approved an Econometrics course which was approved by Senate. The Dean reminded Senate that the Economics self-study predates the approval of the course.

Motion carried.

19.09.05INFORMATION ITEMS (for action or information)19.09.05.01UC National Building Reconciliation Forum

The Speaker informed Senate of the decision by Senate Executive to authorize the Registrar to cancel classes on Wednesday, October 9th from 1:00 – 4:00pm. The decision was made to accommodate the Forum. This year's theme is 'Working Together to Advance Healing and Reconciliation...' hosted by Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig, Nipissing University, Cape Breton University, the University of British Columbia, and Cape Breton University. During the class cancellation period, organizers hope to enhance faculty and student participation for the scheduled workshops.

19.09.05.02 Guidelines for Honorary degree, Distinguished Faculty Award, Senate Award

It was decided at the last meeting of the Senate Executive that criteria and guidelines for the awards need to be revised.

If any members have recommendations to suggest, please forward them to the Speaker and Secretary of Senate.

The Registrar and Deputy Speaker will review best practices from other institutions in the province and forward to the Senate Executive for review.

19.09.06 STANDING REPORTS 19.09.06.01 Board of Governors Representative

No report forwarded by the BOG representative

19.09.06.02 Academic Dean

The Dean submitted a written report. She welcomed new faculty to Algoma University as well as Dr. Della Anaquod, President and Dean of Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig.

The Dean also recognized Professor Noni Boyle who is retiring effective September 30.

19.09.06.03 President

The President submitted a written report. She welcomed everyone back for the start of the new term highlighting increased enrolment at all three campuses.

19.09.07 DISCUSSION AND QUESTION PERIOD

None.

19.09.08 OTHER BUSINESS/NEW BUSINESS

None.

19.09.09 ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

19.09.10 ADJOURNMENT

□ Moved (Keough/Foote): that Senate adjourn.

Motion carried. (Senate adjourned at 1:48pm)