Home > About Algoma > Equity, Diversity and Inclusion at Algoma University

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion at Algoma University

The Algoma University Equity, Diversity and Inclusion on Campus (EDIC) project builds on the framework developed by the Algoma University Diversity Advisory Committee Action Plan completed in 2006, and the Algoma University Diversity and Equity Committee established in 2016 by the Dean’s Office.

The current Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee was spearheaded by the President’s Office in 2017 and will continue to investigate, inform, develop and recommend best practices in regards to equity gaps Algoma University.

Students outside socializing
Definition of Diversity, Inclusion and Equity

As defined by the Province of Ontario

The Canadian Constitution of 1985 recognizes three groups of Indigenous peoples: First Nations, Métis, and Inuit. These diverse peoples are also referred to as Aboriginal peoples. In 1988, the Canadian government passed a law, the Canadian Multiculturalism Act, to formalize its commitment to multiculturalism and the protection of ethnic, racial, linguistic and religious diversity within Canada. That said, Indigenous peoples in Canada continue to challenge Canadian laws that have in many cases undermined their traditional knowledge and ownership of their traditional territories.


Algoma University values equity of access. This means ensuring that every person has access to what they need and the removal of barriers that are disadvantageous to certain groups above others; for example, in relation to fairness. This is different from treating people equally, which is behind the concept of “equality.”


Algoma University values and respects all aspects of being human; inclusive of visible and invisible qualities, experiences and identities that shape who we are, how we think and how we engage with and are perceived by the world. These qualities can be based on dimensions of race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, age, physical or mental abilities, religious/spiritual beliefs, or political ideologies. They can also include differences such as personality, style, capabilities, and thoughts/perspectives.


Algoma University values, recognizes and respects the diversity of thought, experiences, skills and talents of all. Members of underrepresented or equity-deserving groups include, but may not be limited to: women, Indigenous peoples (First Nations, Inuit and Métis), persons with disabilities, members of racialized groups and members of 2SLGBTQQIPA+ communities. In recognition that all individuals have multiple aspects of identity, an intersectional lens will also be used when assessing barriers and/or developing policies/programs at the University.

Land Acknowledgement

Robinson- Huron Treaty Territory

We acknowledge that we are in Robinson-Huron Treaty territory and the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of the Anishnaabeg, specifically the Garden River and Batchewana First Nations, as well as the Métis People.

We are on sacred lands set aside for education as envisioned by Chief Shingwauk for our children and for those as yet unborn.

Learn More