Home > Research > Ethics & Procedures

Ethics and Procedures

The Research Ethics Board (REB) vets research involving human subjects, under the University Senate’s Research Ethics Policy.

The purpose of this Policy is to create a research environment in which the University’s responsibilities towards Human Participants involved in research are discharged in accordance with the highest ethical standards; to promote awareness and understanding of such standards among members or associated members of the University; to articulate clearly the Tri-Council Core Ethical Principles applicable to research in a manner consistent with the most current version of the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans and with international best practices; and to establish an independent research ethics review process.

2023-2024 Research Ethics Board Membership
  • Dr. Nicola Shaw (Chair)
  • Dr. Laura Wyper (Faculty Member)
  • Dr. Miguel Garcia-Ruiz (Faculty Member)
  • Dr. Chantal Lemieux (Faculty Member)
  • Dr. Mahreen Nasir (Faculty Member)
  • Dr. Michael Graydon (Faculty Member)
  • Vacant (Indigenous Expert)
  • Adrienne Hagan (Relevant Law)
  • Tammy Ryan (Community Member)

To contact the team, email [email protected].

2023-2024 Research Ethics Board Meetings
  • September 13, 2023
  • October 2, 2023
  • November 8, 2023
  • December 11, 2023
  • January 29, 2024
  • February 27, 2024
  • March 26, 2024
  • April 23, 2024

For information regarding research policies, please navigate to our Policies and Procedures section.

Animal Research

The Animal Care Committee is Algoma University’s regulatory committee responsible for the ethical assessment of all protocols for animal care and use in research and teaching. As a committee of the university Senate, the Animal Care Committee is comprised of a veterinarian, animal users, non-animal users, as well as student and community representatives. This broad base of membership provides diversity of expertise and insight.

All research or teaching that involves animals must go through Algoma University’s Animal Care Committee to obtain ethical approval prior to any project commencing.

2022-2023 Animal Care Committee Membership
  • William Dew (Chair)
  • Michele Piercey-Normore (Vice President Academic & Research)
  • Shannon Rowell–Garvon (ACC Coordinator)
  • Rodney Jouppi (Veterinarian)
  • David Euler (Community Member)
  • Jennifer Foote (Animal User)
  • Miguel Garcia (Non-Animal User)
  • Adam Gouge (Student Member)


  • Laurie Bloomfield  (Past Chair & Resource)
  • Cindy Ross (Past Community Member & Resource)

To contact the committee, email [email protected]