- 1 UP
Home > News > Algoma U Convocation Honours 245 Graduates

Algoma U Convocation Honours 245 Graduates

(SAULT STE. MARIE, ON – June 11, 2016):  Algoma University celebrates the achievements and successes of the Class of 2016 in its annual convocation ceremony held on the waterfront of Sault Ste. Marie at the Roberta Bondar Park Tent Pavilion at 2:00pm on Saturday, June 11. Chancellor Shirley Horn will confer 245 degrees.

“On behalf of Algoma University, we extend our warmest congratulations to the Class of 2016!” said Dr. Craig Chamberlin, President and Vice Chancellor of Algoma University. “Convocation is a time of great excitement for us as we celebrate the achievements of our graduating students. We wish all of our graduands the best of luck in their future endeavours and much success as they enter into the next phase of their life.”

Daniel Imre is this year’s recipient of the Governor General’s Silver Medal for exceptional academic achievement. Established in 1873, the medal is one of the most prestigious awards that can be received by a student in a Canadian educational institution. The Silver Medal is awarded to the undergraduate student who achieves the highest academic standing upon graduation with distinction from a Bachelor’s degree program. Imre is graduating from the Honours Bachelor of Computer Science program.

Kareem Roberts is this year’s 2016 Alumni Achievement Award winner. From Brampton, Ontario, Roberts is the Founder and President of K-Robs Social Enterprise, a non-profit consultancy organization that partners with local non-governmental organizations, and organizations with similar missions, to seek opportunities to overcome challenges and barriers that prevent children in developing countries from accessing quality education. He graduated from Algoma U’s Bachelor of Business Administration program with a minor in Marketing in 2008. The Alumni Achievement Award acknowledges the professional, civic, and personal accomplishments of an Algoma University alumnus/a who has graduated within the last 10 years.

The winner of this year’s Distinguished Alumni Award is Justice Charles H. Vaillancourt. He earned his Bachelor of Arts in History and Geography from Algoma University College. He practiced criminal law in Sault Ste. Marie for 16 years before being appointed to the Ontario Court of Justice in 1990. Vaillancourt has been assigned to many high-profile national cases, most recently the Senator Mike Duffy trial. The Distinguished Alumni Award acknowledges the accomplishments of an Algoma University alumnus/a who has reached a pinnacle of personal and professional achievement in his or her chosen field. Recipients of the award have successfully demonstrated outstanding leadership abilities in business and industry, community service, or public life.

As part of the convocation ceremony, Algoma U conferred an Honorary Degree, a Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, on Senator Murray Sinclair in late May. From Selkirk, Manitoba, Sinclair was appointed Associate Chief Judge of the Provincial Court and named Co-commissioner of the Aboriginal Justice Inquiry. In 2001, the Federal Government promoted Sinclair from the Provincial Court to the Superior Court of Manitoba, the Court of Queen’s Bench. He is the first judge of Aboriginal descent in Manitoba, and the second in Canada. Sinclair became a national figure when he was appointed to Chair the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. In March 2016, he was appointed to the Senate by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

After today’s convocation ceremony, Algoma U will now have an alumni family of over 5,600 people.

Share Article