- 1 UP
Home > News > Annual Athletics Awards Honours Thunderbirds Virtually

Annual Athletics Awards Honours Thunderbirds Virtually

 (SAULT STE. MARIE, ON – April 15, 2021): Today, Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program recognized the hard work, dedication, skill, and academic achievements of their student-athletes at their first-ever virtual Varsity Athletics Awards. 

Although there was not an OUA competitive season this past year, student-athletes were able to train virtually with their coaches. Several sports trained in person following COVID-19  guidelines approved by Algoma Public Health, focussing on strength and agility training. To commemorate their outstanding efforts during these unusual times, a short virtual ceremony was held to celebrate their accomplishments. 

“This has been an incredibly challenging year for our athletes, coaches, and Athletic’s support staff. Maintaining motivation and training without competition has been difficult on all involved. For our graduating athletes, they have unfortunately missed out on their final season as Thunderbirds. But throughout this period, I have been struck by the resilience and leadership that everyone involved in our Thunderbird Athletics program has displayed,” shared Dave Trudelle, Director of Student Life and Ancillary Services.” We commend our Thunderbirds for their dedication and commitment despite the impacts of the pandemic. Congratulations to all of our award winners for the leadership they have displayed. For the graduating athletes, we wish them all the best in their future endeavours. We look forward to next year when we hopefully will be able to return to competition and get to cheer on our Thunderbird athletes again!”

Guest speakers included President and Vice-Chancellor Asima Vezina, Director of Student Life and Ancillary Services Dave Trudelle, Thunderbird Award Winners Bryce Davis and Karly Fracalanza, Dr. Lukenda Service Award Winner Nick Keenan, as well as a special cameo message from TSN sportscaster Jack Armstrong! 

A full recording of today’s event has been shared on the Algoma University YouTube channel. 

Congratulations to all award recipients! For further information on the Algoma University Thunderbirds Athletics Department, please visit www.algomathunderbirds.ca

The following awards were handed out:

Team Awards

Men’s Basketball
Most Improved Player Maxime Bellony
Leadership Award Vincent Falardeau

Cross Country Running
Most Improved Avery Lidke
Most Dedicated Nick Keenan

Women’s Curling
Rookie of the Year Paige Simon
MVP Nicole Costello

Men’s Curling
Rookie of the Year Josh Hales
MVP Kevin Macmichael

Men’s Soccer
Most Improved Harish Cassie
Most Dedicated Tim Van Weerden
Leadership Award Rafael Valentini-Rodriguez

Nordic Skiing
Rookie of the Year Maisie Robere-McGugan
Most Dedicated Nicolas Korsunski
Leadership Award Rebekah Gwynn

Thunderbird Award (Graduating Student-Athletes)

Brody Collison Wrestling
Bryce Davis Wrestling
Skyler Perron Wrestling
Karly Fracalanza Women’s Basketball
Rebecca Wylie Women’s Basketball
Anna Glasgow Women’s Soccer
Elisa South Women’s Soccer
Makenna Wiebe Women’s Soccer
Tekie (Benhur) Isac Men’s Soccer
Michael Tatenda Dhliwayo Men’s Soccer
Rafael Valentini- Rodriguez Men’s Soccer
Allie Lucente Women’s Curling

Dr. Lukenda Service Award

Nick Keenan Cross-Country running

U Sports Academic All-Canadians 2019-20

Simon Bobok
Brayden Cullen
Rafael Valentini
Tim Van Weerden
Tanner Wilden
Claudia Aguas
Megan Chandler
Sydney Conrad
Maria De Melo
Faith Holmes
Cierra Meredith
Katie Nippard
Leigha Nippard
Alexis Trigiani-Kirkwood
Makenna Wiebe
Milan Acimovic
Colp Victoria
Sawyer Fischer
Karly Fracalanza
Keyra Gallo
Aimee Garland
Dionne Martin
Chloe Martynuck
Mercedes Ryan
Rebecca Wylie
Taylor Dewling
Avery Litke
Bryce Davis
Stephen Kreyenbuhl
David Serra
Skyler Perron
Erik Weise
Anik Graves
Breanna Hamilton
Allie Lucente

Share Article