- 1 UP
CC building Lobby
Home > News > Dr. Nirosha Murugan Named Tier II Canada Research Chair in Tissue Biophysics and Awarded Canada for Innovation – John R. Evans Leaders Fund 

Dr. Nirosha Murugan Named Tier II Canada Research Chair in Tissue Biophysics and Awarded Canada for Innovation – John R. Evans Leaders Fund 

Awarded $674,984 in funding from the Government of Canada

(SAULT STE. MARIE, ON- November 16, 2022): Algoma University is pleased to announce that Dr. Nirosha Murugan has been appointed Tier II Canada Research Chair in Tissue Biophysics. This prestigious chairship will be used to recruit researchers, including students, and operational resources towards the success of Dr. Murugan’s innovative research program that invites new developments for cancer therapy. She was also successful in obtaining a Canada for Innovation – John R. Evans Leaders Fund for infrastructure for her research lab. With both of these designations, Dr. Murugan will be awarded a total of $674,984 from the Government of Canada.

“I am very pleased to see nationally recognized work in Tissue Biophysics being completed at Algoma University. Being named Canada Research Chair Tier II reflects the incredible calibre of Dr. Murugan’s work in this field and I commend her for this tremendous accomplishment,” noted Terry Sheehan, Member of Parliament for the riding of Sault Ste. Marie. 

The Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) aims to position Canada as one of the world’s top countries in research and innovation. The program invests $311 million annually to attract and retain the world’s best researchers. Canada Research Chairs strive to achieve research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences. At a time of intense international competition, the John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF) is a critical strategic investment tool designed to help institutions attract and retain the very best of today’s and tomorrow’s researchers. The fund’s name pays tribute to the outstanding contributions of John R. Evans, the first Chair of the CFI’s Board of Directors.

“Dr. Murugan’s contributions to Algoma University and the scientific community as a whole are astounding,” shared President and Vice-Chancellor Asima Vezina. “Her recent research has been published globally, innovating the landscape of cancer research and how it is perceived around the world. Nirosha’s forward thinking and leadership inspires future thought leaders in our community and beyond.”

Dr. Nirosha Murugan is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biology (School of Life Sciences and the Environment) focused in the Health Sciences. She is an interdisciplinary scientist with a strong passion for research and pedagogy. From a top-down approach, her lab combines principles and state-of-the-art techniques from neuroscience, regenerative medicine, and cancer biology, to investigate how cancer cell fate can be reprogrammed into healthy cells using regenerative microenvironments, and in turn, how cancer microenvironments can modulate the function of distant organ systems such as the brain to induce cancer-related cognitive and neurological impairments.

“As an early-career researcher leading new approaches in the fight against cancer, it is an honour to have the support of the CRC program and Algoma University as I translate the biophysical language of cellular communication to predict and re-program diseased tissues,” shared Dr. Murugan. “I am excited to represent Canada as a member of the international scientific community and to contribute to transformative breakthroughs in the area of tissue biophysics.”

The new funding will enable Murugan to dedicate more time for conducting research and publishing results, leading to increased productivity. Stable funding provided through the CRCP will strengthen her research team and attract collaborations from within and outside the University, further improving the quality of research currently underway. Learn more about her work here.

With today’s announcement, Algoma U now has four Canada Research Chairs in its faculty ranks. For more information on research being conducted at the University, please visit the Office of Research web pages.

Share Article